



23 January 2019

## Leading business figures judge Malta Businesswoman of the Year Awards

Malta's inaugural awards to recognise the achievements of women in business have been judged by an outstanding panel of leading business personalities. The esteemed panel comprised of Sonia Hernandez, CEO Vodafone Malta (Chair of the panel); Frank V. Farrugia, President Malta Chamber of Commerce; Andy Gatesy, Chairman and CEO Toly Group; Sue Vella, Non-Executive Director HSBC Malta; and Grace Camilleri, Partner Ernst & Young Malta.

The launch of Malta's inaugural awards to recognise the achievements of women in business were announced on the 5<sup>th</sup> November 2018 by Her Excellency, Marie-Louise Coleiro Preca, President of Malta, and the Chief Executive Officer of HSBC Bank Malta p.l.c., Andrew Beane.

The jury of the Malta Businesswoman of the Year Awards (MBWYA) has deliberated at length over the dozens of nominations received. While it was a challenge to shortlist from among outstanding candidates, the jury used established criteria to select finalists who have shown passion and sustained commitment in their field. In judging the merits of the submissions, jury members abstained from voting if and when there was a conflict of interest.

The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on 9<sup>th</sup> February 2019 at the Verdala Palace.

Chairwoman of the judging panel Ms Hernandez said: "It was inspiring to see so many outstanding women nominated for these awards and I want to encourage all companies here in Malta to further support this relevant agenda moving forward. Diverse companies are proven to perform better and I hope that by recognising these achievements we will encourage more talented women to pursue a career in business."

Applications were open to all female entrepreneurs and businesswomen operating in Malta. The Malta Businesswoman of the Year Awards are supported by HSBC Bank Malta and are being held under the patronage of H.E. Marie-Louise Coleiro Preca, the President of Malta.

More information is available on dedicated website www.mbwya.com.mt



(From left) Andy Gatesy, Sue Vella, Sonia Hernandez, and Grace Camilleri. Not seen in the picture is jury member Frank V. Farrugia